Board Members

James P. Collins (Chair)

Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Natural History and the Environment

School of Life Sciences

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Arizona State University

Tempe, AZ


Enriqueta C. Bond

President Emeritus

Burroughs Wellcome Fund

Marshall, VA


Roger D. Cone

Joe C. Davis Chair in Biomedical Science

Professor and Chairman of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Nashville, TN


Sean Eddy

JFRC Group Leader

HHMI Janelia Farm Research Campus

Ashburn, VA


Sarah C. R. Elgin

Professor of Biology

Washington University

St. Louis, MO


David R. Franz


Frederick, MD


Louis J. Gross

James R. Cox and Alvin and Sally Beaman Distinguished Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Mathematics

Director of the Institute for Environmental Modeling

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Knoxville, TN


Elizabeth Heitman

Associate Professor

Center for Biomedical Ethics and Society

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Nashville, TN


John G. Hildebrand

Regents Professor

The University of Arizona

Department of Neuroscience

Tucson, AZ


Richard A. Johnson

Senior Counsel and Senior Partner (retired)

Arnold & Porter LLP

Washington, DC


Judith Kimble

Vilas Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Medical Genetics

Investigator at Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Madison, WI


Cato T. Laurencin

University Professor, Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Professor of Chemicals, Materials, and Biomedical Engineering

Chief Executive Officer, Connecticut Institute for Clinical and Translational Science

Director, Institute for Regenerative Engineering

Farmington, CT


Alan I. Leshner

CEO and Executive Publisher of Science

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Washington, DC


Karen E. Nelson


The J. Craig Venter Institute

Rockville, MD


Robert M. Nerem

Institute Professor Emeritus

Georgia Institute of Technology

Atlanta, GA


Camille Parmesan

Professor of Integrative Biology

University of Texas

National Marine Aquarium Chair in the Public Understanding of Oceans and Human Health

Plymouth University, UK


Alison G. Power

Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY


Margaret Riley

President, Massachusetts Academy of Sciences

Professor of Biology

University of Massachusetts

Amherst, MA


Janis Weeks


Department of Biology

University of Oregon

Eugene, OR


Mary Woolley

President and CEO


Alexandria, VA